The secret life of the bed and breakfast community

I am still riding a high from my mini-vacation to Asheville, North Carolina! My husband and I had so much fun eating, hiking, and hanging out at a local game café. Not only did we have a great time doing vacation type things, but we also loved where we stayed. To make this trip a little extra special, Tyler found a bed and breakfast for us to stay at.

Today I want to tell you about the Cedar Crest Inn and why you should choose to stay here whenever you visit Asheville!

The Inn has the main house (which is old, beautiful, and huge!), a carriage house, and two or three other little cottages for guests to stay in. Tyler and I stayed in the carriage house, which was just a few yards away from the main house. The carriage house has three rooms for people to stay in, a full kitchen, a dining room, and a living room. This would be the perfect spot to stay with family or friends if you go on a group vacation. What I liked most about staying in this spot is that it felt so homey. I could still see and appreciate the beauty of the main house but still have a little more privacy from all the guests staying there.

IMG_0704
The carriage house

I woke up early every morning we were there (there’s no rest for the college student in the middle of the semester!) to read for school. The comfy chair I sat in with the cozy lamp next to me was the perfect way to start out my mornings. I felt like I was home.

IMG_0443
My early morning view from my reading chair

They served breakfast from 8:30 to 9:30. The dining room was so beautiful. I didn’t get a picture of it, but you can probably tell from how nicely decorated the table is (in the picture below) that this place felt fancy and fun! Every morning at breakfast we saw the same couples. Some liked talking to us every morning, and for the four mornings we were there, it was kind of like tradition for us to make small talk with them about what we were doing that day.

The breakfasts were home cooked and freshly made every morning. Most days they served us fruit, a muffin, and the main breakfast meal. Tyler and I were always well fed when we left the dining room! On top of a great breakfast, they also provided snacks for us to eat throughout the day. If we wanted to we could eat the leftover muffins from the morning, nibble on a freshly made cookie, or snack on a gooey brownie!

IMG_0690
Tyler felt sick from all the food we had been eating on the trip! His was too full for breakfast!

Since a bed and breakfast is basically like staying at someone’s house, everything felt so clean. Cleanliness is important to me because I have a hard time relaxing if I feel like where I am sitting or sleeping is dirty from someone else. Cedar Crest Inn did a great job making me feel like they cared for my comfort in making everything as clean as could be. I know hotels do this too, but I love that the workers made our bed every morning and gave us fresh towels every afternoon. Coming back to a room with a made bed and fresh towels was so nice! If only my own home could have that!

One thing I have noticed about staying at bed and breakfasts in general, is that Tyler and I are usually the youngest couple there. This makes me think that the b and b community might be an older crowd, but Tyler and I are old souls at heart so we like this! We like the sense of community we get talking to other couples at breakfast. And, specifically for this trip, we liked that we got to stay in a historical home. Staying at a bed and breakfast may be a little more expensive than staying at a hotel, but the care and comfort you get there is worth the extra cost!

Grace

Here’s a quick link to the inn’s website: Cedar Crest Inn

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑